Reviews A-Z

Here is a full list  (with links) of all the books I’ve written about in my blog:

A26, The – Pascal Garnier

A Visit from the Goon Squad – Jennifer Egan

All the Pretty Horses – Cormac McCarthy

American Future, The – Simon Schama

Ancillary Justice – Ann Leckie

Arcadia – Iain Pears

Bedlam – Nick Spencer & Riley Rossmo

Bend Sinister – Vladimir Nabokov

Best British Fantasy 2014 – ed. Steve Haynes

Betrayal, The – Helen Dunmore

Big Machine – Victor Lavalle

Big Sleep, The – Raymond Chandler

Birdsong – Sebastian Faulks

Blue Remembered Earth – Alastair Reynolds

Book of Phoenix, The – Nnedi Okorafor

Both Flesh and Not – David Foster Wallace

Broken Monsters – Lauren Beukes

By Light Alone – Adam Roberts

C – Tom McCarthy

Centauri Device, The – M. John Harrison

Children of Time – Adrian Tchaikovsky

Chrysalids, The – John Wyndham

City and The City, The – China Miéville

City and The Stars, The – Arthur C. Clarke

Cold Hand in Mine – Robert Aickman

Crossing, The – Cormac McCarthy

Day the Call Came, The – Thomas Hinde

Day of the Triffids, The – John Wyndham

Details – China Miéville

Devil in Silver, The – Victor LaValle

Dispossessed, The – Ursula K. Le Guin

Dissection, The – Georg Heym

Earth Abides – George R. Stewart

Easter Parade, The – Richard Yates *Guest review by my friend Carly.

Eerie Silence, The – Paul Davies

Europe at Midnight – Dave Hutchinson

Evolution of Bruno Littlemore, The – Benjamin Hale

February – Lisa Moore

Finkler Question, The – Howard Jacobson

Freedom – Jonathan Franzen

Girl with All the Gifts, The – M. R. Carey

Good Man Jesus and the Scoundrel Christ, The – Philip Pullman

Great Lover, The – Michael Cisco

Grief is the Thing with Feathers – Max Porter

Hamlet in Purgatory – Stephen Greenblatt

Harvest of Time – Alastair Reynolds

House on the Borderland, The – William Hope Hodgson

In A Strange Room – Damon Galgut

Inherent Vice – Thomas Pynchon

Inverted World – Christopher Priest

Jack Glass – Adam Roberts

Jude the Obscure – Thomas Hardy

Kafka on the Shore – Haruki Murakami

Kraken – China Miéville

Kraken Wakes, The – John Wyndham

Laughter in the Dark – Vladimir Nabokov

Left Hand of Darkness, The – Ursula Le Guin

Leviathan (play) – Matthew Trevannion

Light – M. John Harrison

Long Song, The – Andrea Levy

Long Way to a Small Angry Planet – Becky Chambers

Lord of the Flies – William Golding

Martian, The – Andy Weir

Memory of Water -Emmi Itaranta

Midwich Cuckoos, The – John Wyndham

Mockingbird – Walter Tevis

Mourning Becomes Electra – Eugene O’Neill

Musuem of Innocence, The – Orhan Pamuk

Myths we Live be, The – Mary Midgley

My Work is Not Yet Done – Thomas Ligotti

Narrator, The – Michael Cisco

Non-Stop – Brian Aldiss

Nova – Samuel R. Delaney

Of Mutability – Jo Shapcott

Physics of the Future – Michio Kaku

Pnin – Vladimir Nabokov

Quality of Silence, The – Rosamund Lupton

Quantum Thief, The – Hannu Rajaniemi

Quiet American, The – Graham Greene

Railsea – China Miéville

Rats in the Walls, The – H.P. Lovecraft

Remainder – Tom McCarthy

Room – Emma Donoghue

Sense of an Ending, The – Julian Barnes

Slap, The – Christos Tsiolkas

Slaughter House 5 – Kurt Vonnegut

Solar – Ian McEwan

Some Day I’ll Find You – Richard Madeley

Spectral Link, The – Thomas Ligotti

Station Eleven – Emily St. John Mandel

Teatro Grottesco – Thomas Ligotti

Terminal World – Alastair Reynolds

Thaliad – Marly Youmans

Three Stigmata of Palmer Eldritch, The – Philip K. Dick

Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet, The – David Mitchell

Time’s Arrow – Martin Amis

Tintin in the Land of the Soviets – Hergé

Traitor, The – Michael Cisco

Trespass – Rose Tremain

True Tale of the Monster Billy Dean, The – David Almond

Unbearable Lightness of Being, The – Milan Kundera

Unclay – T. F. Powys

Uprooted – Naomi Novik

Utopia – Thomas More

Very Hungry Caterpillar, The – Eric Carle

Violent Century, The – Lavie Tidhar

A Visit from the Goon Squad – Jennifer Egan

Wasp Factory, The – Iain Banks

Wild Abandon – Joe Dunthorne

Wind-up Bird Chronicle, The – Haruki Murakami

Windup Girl, The – Paolo Bacigalupi

Wizard of Earthsea, A – Ursula K. Le Guin

Yellow Blue Tibia – Adam Roberts